Oscar Pistorius 

‘Blade runner’ will be allowed to run in the Olympics on Saturday as part of the 400m South African relay team . Oscar Pistorius was born without a fibula in both legs and had below the knee amputations as a baby. His ‘blades’ [artificial legs] enable him to run at speeds equal to those of top athletes. He was actually banned from able bodied events because it was argued by others that his blades gave him an unfair advantage. He has managed to overturn this ruling and experts disagree on whether his blades as good or even better than legs for running. In the future however prosthetics are likely to be made that will be better than normal human body parts. I wish him luck. He is an awe inspiring guy who did not let being born with a handicap stop him achieving. Read about him on this link.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vaXwioLpXcc

My mother used to tell us in the mornings, ‘Carl put on your shoes, Oscar you put on your legs. So I grew up not really thinking I had a disability. I grew up thinking I had different shoes.”

 

